Jul. 12, 2020

Malaysian Dr Adeeba Kamarulzman MB,BS is New president of the international aids society.


Jul. 12, 2020

IAS has announced nine newly elected and three re-elected members to its Governing Council. Adeeba Kamarulzaman of Malaysia is the new IAS President and Sharon Lewin of Australia the President-Elect, with Jennifer Kates of the United States serving as Treasurer.

“The new members joining the IAS Governing Council add a great diversity of skills and experiences,” IAS President Adeeba Kamarulzaman said. “They will be pivotal in steering IAS into the future and dealing with a fast-changing scientific, social and political landscape. I am particularly happy to announce that, for the first time, our Governing Council is majority female with 13 women and 12 men.”

The Governing Council determines strategy and policy direction for IAS to ensure that the organization fulfils its mission of leading collective action on every front of the global HIV response.

“The HIV epidemic continues to require collaborative leadership across regions and disciplines that this Governing Council represents,” said IAS Executive Director, Kevin Osborne. “This new Governing Council is deeply committed to driving the HIV response on the many fronts that will require our attention, not least the remaining challenge of widespread stigma and discrimination.”

About Adeeba Kamarulzaman

A graduate of Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, trained in Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases, Adeeba Kamarulzaman is currently Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Malaya, an Adjunct Associate Professor at Yale University, USA. She established the Infectious Diseases Unit at the University of Malaya Medical Centre and, in 2008, the Centre of Excellence for Research in AIDS (CERiA) at the same university.

As convener of the Malaysian Harm Reduction Working Group of the Malaysian AIDS Council, she successfully advocated for the implementation of harm reduction measures to tackle HIV amongst people who inject drugs in Malaysia. She was President of the Malaysian AIDS Council from 2006 to 2010 where she remains an Executive Committee member. She also serves as Chairwoman of the Malaysian AIDS Foundation.

Adeeba Kamarulzaman has been involved in several regional and international organizations including TREAT Asia, the International Society of Infectious Diseases, and was Co-Chair of the WHO Strategic and Technical Advisory Committee on HIV and is presently a member of the UNAIDS Advisory Group. She was the Scientific Co-Chair of the 18th International AIDS Conference in Vienna in 2010 and local chair of the 7th IAS Conference on HIV Pathogenesis, Treatment and Prevention (now IAS Conference on HIV Science) in Kuala Lumpur in 2013. In April 2015 she received an Honorary Doctorate of Laws from her alma mater, Monash University, for her outstanding achievements in medicine.

The new IAS Governing Council is composed of the following members:
Adeeba Kamarulzaman, Malaysia – President
Sharon Lewin, Australia – President-Elect
Jennifer Kates, United States – Treasurer
Anton Pozniak, United Kingdom – Immediate Past President (non-voting)
Kevin Osborne, Switzerland – Executive Director (non-voting)

Serge Paul Eholié, Côte d’Ivoire
Keletso Makofane, South Africa
Josephine Nabukenya, Uganda – new Governing Council member
Kenneth Ngure, Kenya – re-elected Governing Council member

Asia and the Pacific Islands
Ishwar Gilada, India
Andrew Grulich, Australia – new Governing Council member
Shuzo Matsushita, Japan – re-elected Governing Council member
Nittaya Phanuphak, Thailand

Andriy Klepikov, Ukraine
Cristina Mussini, Italy
Chloe Meave Orkin, United Kingdom – new Governing Council member
Bruno Spire, France – re-elected Governing Council member

Latin America and the Caribbean
Claudia Cortes, Chile – new Governing Council member
Beatriz Grinsztejn, Brazil
Omar Sued, Argentina – new Governing Council member
Mónica Thormann, Dominican Republic – new Governing Council member

United States and Canada
Adaora Adimora, United States
Susan Buchbinder, United States – new Governing Council member
Renata Sanders, United States – new Governing Council member
Darrell Tan, Canada – new Governing Council member


The International AIDS Society (IAS) leads collective action on every front of the global HIV response through its membership base, scientific authority and convening power. Founded in 1988, the IAS is the world’s largest association of HIV professionals, with members in more than 170 countries. Working with its members, the IAS advocates and drives urgent action to reduce the impact of HIV. The IAS is also the steward of the world’s most prestigious HIV conferences: the International AIDS Conference, the IAS Conference on HIV Science, and the HIV Research for Prevention Conference.