Oct. 15, 2020

Global Health Film Classics: WOMENstruate
Sunday 18 October 19:00 British Summer Time

At any given time, 800 million people across the world are menstruating. It should be just another facet of daily life, yet for many women menstruation comes with a great stigma and taboo.

WOMENstruate gives an unflinching vignette into the lives of seven women from across Africa and their experiences with menstruation, without shying away from the taboo.

Cyclones in Mozambique, homelessness in South Africa, HIV positivity in Eswatini, and refugee camps in South Sudan are just some of the stories told by these women and girls. The women may be of different generations and live in different countries, but the message given by all is the same: menstruation is normal.

When director Lauren Anders Brown set out to film WOMENstruate, she planned to do it in 4-7 days, the average length of a woman’s period, as an ode to what a woman can achieve with the right resources and support. It was filmed in 6 days.

The panel discussion after the screening will be moderated by Naana Otoo-Oyortey MBE, Executive Director of FORWARD (Foundation for Women’s Health Research and Development) the leading African women-led organisation working to end violence against women and girls. The panel will include WOMENstruate director, Lauren Anders Brown, Matt Jackson, UK Director of UNFPA, and Lineo Matsela, obstetrician and gynaecologist, South Africa.
Registration now open

Registration for all screenings in the Classics series is free of charge - but each one costs us just under £1,000 to organise for you - thank you in advance for making a donation to cover our costs!

May. 8, 2020

WHO's virtual online awards ceremony of the Health for All Film Festival will be streamed live on 12 May 2020 and will include the announcement of the 5 winners of WHO’s first ever Health for All Film Festival.

Tuesday 12 May, 17.30 CEST


17.30 Announcements of awards by Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, WHO Director-General and jury members

18.10 Media Q+A

18.30 Winning films shown WHO YouTube

Jury members include film writer and director Richard Curtis; former Director of Annecy International Animation Films Festival Patrick Eveno; composer Ricky Kej; singer and songwriter Angélique Kidjo; film documentary producer Barbara Miller, and actor and director Wagner Moura. Many of the jury members will join the event.


The Health for All Film Festival has attracted nearly 1300 short film submissions - both amateur and professional - from more than 110 countries. The official selection was made of 15 titles in each of the three initial competition categories: video reports, animation films and films about nurses and midwives. Thanks to the diversity of submissions, an additional specific selection was recently added for short films about noncommunicable diseases and another one will be added later in the year for short films about mental health.

Join the LIVE in English on 12 May:

May. 5, 2020

Addiction and Recovery stories in Documentaries and films have helped with rescue , healing and restoration . Bringing sufferers and helpers together in Kuff , healthndevelopment media is meeting one of it,s principal goals , uncovering facts and truth in documentiaries and films . DR AKWO THOMPSON NTUBA